#82635: Stone Gatehouse

The reconstructed stone gatehouse of the last of three French forts named “de Chartres” built here, stands tall along with a portion of the 15- foot walls. Originally erected in the 1750s it was used by the French, followed by the British, until 1772. The gate was rebuilt in the 1920s.
Public Domain. Great Rivers Country
Download Original (3137 x 2100 pixels, 3752.4 MB)